Distribution Eugène Gagnon Inc.


Active for more than a century, Distribution Eugène Gagnon, situated in Sainte-Marie de Beauce is a Canadian leader in the distribution of work wear, work accessories, sportswear and hunting and fishing clothing.

Founded in 1909, the company was originally providing fabrics, towels, thread and sewing material. From 1925, Eugène Gagnon, the company’s founder, chose to specialise in the distribution of work wear. He was buying the fabric and had local manufacturer make the clothing; this was the birth of the Jackfield line.

The current sales and purchasing Director, Louis Gravel, is the third generation of the Gravel family to be part of the success of this 15 employees business. His almost 20 years of experience in the field insures a solid future for the company. “My grand-father, Lucien, bought the company in 1960 and has slowly developed the variety of our models. Then, in 1990, my father Yves and my uncle Denis, who became owners in 1975, decided to start importing our clothing lines, mostly from China and Bangladesh, in order to stay competitive against the major brands that were starting to come to Canada at the time.”

Over 300 different models are kept on inventory and sold to more than 2 000 clients all over Canada. We have a policy to not sell to end user as we only sell to wholesalers, distributors and retailers. 

Jackfield has always been able to adapt to the new developments in the industry and to remain very competitive.

Distribution Eugène Gagnon Inc.

 

Entreprise plus que centenaire, Distribution Eugène Gagnon de Sainte-Marie de Beauce est un leader Canadien du marché de la distribution de vêtements et d'accessoires de travail, de sport et de chasse et pêche.

Fondée en 1909, l’entreprise distribuait à l’origine des tissus tels serviettes, tissus à la verge, fil et matériel de couture. Dès 1925, Eugène Gagnon, le fondateur, a plutôt choisi de se spécialiser dans la distribution de vêtements de travail. Il achetait les tissus et faisait fabriquer les vêtements ; c’est la naissance de la marque Jackfield. 

Louis Gravel, directeur des ventes et achats, représente aujourd’hui la troisième génération de la famille Gravel à prendre part au succès de l’entreprise qui compte une quinzaine d’employés. Avec près de 20 ans d’expérience, il représente une relève solide et expérimentée. « Mon grand-père Lucien a acheté la compagnie de Eugène Gagnon en 1960 et a progressivement étendu l’offre de vêtements. Puis, en 1990, mon père Yves et mon oncle Denis, devenus propriétaires en 1975, ont décidé de se tourner vers l’importation, principalement en Chine et au Bangladesh, afin d’être plus compétitif face aux grandes marques qui perçaient alors au Canada. »

Ce sont pas moins de 300 produits qui sont maintenus en inventaire et distribués à plus de 2 000 clients, à la grandeur du Canada. Nous avons une politique de ne pas vendre à l'usager final(particuliers). Nous ne vendons qu'aux grossistes, aux distributeurs et aux magasins.

Jackfield a su progresser au fil des années avec les nouveaux développements de l’industrie et se maintenir très compétitive.